St Margert Mary/Hill of Calvary Missionary Baptist Church
5103 Lemay St, Detroit, MI 48213
-Abandoned 2012
|Legacy Page|
Locate it!
History of St Margert Mary/Hill of Calvary Missionary Baptist Church
St. Margaret Mary is a church on the East Side of Detroit, located near the City Airport. It was built in 1920, with a school addition added in 1923 . The booming church operated the school as a parochial school, which is one that teaches religious agendas; in the case of St. Margaret, it was a Catholic education . As the East Side of Detroit grew, so did the church and school . In 1930, a new, larger church was built and designed by Donaldson and Meier, who also created many Detroit Public Schools, including Cooley High School. For decades , the school thrived . However, during the 1960s, the East Side of Detroit began to decline, and the white flight of the Catholic population led to the church having only 50 attendees by 1980 . The school had closed nine years earlier, in 1970, due to the population drop. The school remains one of the last schools still standing in 2025 that was abandoned before 2000, as most Detroit schools closed between 2007 and 2012. St. Cyril 's, another church and school on the East Side of Detroit, closed its school portion in 1971 and was demolished in May of 2003. The church continued as St . Margaret Mary until 1982 when it closed by order of the Archdiocese. In 1984 , a new congregation took over the church under the name Hill of Calvary Missionary Baptist Church. Hill of Calvary operated until 2012 when someone broke into the church and attempted to burn it down . In 2025, both the church and the school still stand, though decayed; the school has sat abandoned for now 55 years, and the church has seen better days. Together, they stand as strong testaments to buildings of the 20th century.
Recollection from the author
Walking in not much was to be seen but as we turned the corner to see the sanctuary a sight was to be had. The light shining in from the still intact stained glass windows, to the Balcony it was a sight to take in. Some many unique angles of this church. Unfortunately the sanctuary was really the only part of the church and not much else was to be had of the church section of this complex. But together with the School this is the best Church Complex we have explored.
Full Shot of the Church with Podium in foreground
Looking towards the back of the church lots of graffiti has popped up
looking towards the front of the church this is what followers of the church would have seen every week
The Arched Ceiling adds a lot to the building
Main Entrance to the church
The Brick part of the building is likely were the fire was
The Stained glass mostly untouched from vandals
close up of the glass
The sanctuary from the balcony
Pews in the balcony
stairs to the balcony
A pew moved from its original location
Reduced to brick but still breathtaking
Front shot of the podium
podium with the baptism basin the background
Salvaged piano
Balcony with windows in the background
Confession booth
Light still shines into the sanctuary
Hooks on the back of the pews would have held hats at one time
Memo board
Memo board with side entrance
Likely the choir area
side room next to the stage
ventilation in the basement
last full shot of the church floor